FAQ

Tips for Selecting the Right Helper

1.  Language Proficiency
2.  Age Consideration
3.  Study The Helper’s Background Carefully
4.  Greenhorn Vs. Experienced Helper
5.  Understanding Cultural Differences

1.Language Proficiency

Currently, Hong Kong families employ helpers primarily from the Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand, and increasingly helpers from Myanmar. Most Filipinos can only communicate in English. However, Indonesians, Thais, and Myanmar helpers are trained in speaking Cantonese.

2.Age Consideration

Employers are free to choose helpers between age 18 and 50. The age of your helper can contribute to your family’s dynamics. If you have small kids, you may need someone who is between 30 and 40 years old and has the experience and energy to take care of children. For the teenagers in your family, you may need a younger helper in her 20’s who can communicate with them. Elderlies may appreciate the sympathy of a mature helper in her 50’s.

3.Study The Helper’s Background Carefully

You must scrutinize the helper’s background information and her expectation for her future employer’s family, so that both you and the helper are on the same page. Pay attention to whether her family situation really requires her to work in Hong Kong. This will become the factor that governs her work attitude and sense of responsibility.

4.Greenhorn Vs. Experienced Helper

Employers often wonder whether it’s best to employ a helper who is new to Hong Kong or already has experience in working in Hong Kong. According to some experts, those new to Hong Kong are generally more loyal and less demanding, but their lack of experience will require more training and grooming. The more experienced “local” helpers generally pick up work faster and show greater initiative. However, some of them might have been influenced by other “local” helpers and have accumulated bad habits.

5.Understanding Cultural Differences

Every country has its own cultural, religious, and social practices. You must understand their distinctive lifestyles and choose a helper who can match your own lifestyle. Some Indonesian helpers, due to religious reason, do not eat pork, and some of them cannot even touch pork. Some of them have to pray at certain times of the day. Employers are advised to be mindful of the helper’s customs.

Our company holds valid operating licenses issued by the Philippines, Thailand, Bangladesh & Indonesian Consulates.

LICENSE NO: 54610

常見問題
挑選外傭 5大要訣

1.  語言互通合作輕鬆
2.  女傭年齡大小要注意
3.  仔細閱讀女傭資料
4.  「初來報到」或「熟手技工」?
5.  了解文化背景,生活習慣

1.語言互通合作輕鬆

現在香港可僱用的女傭之國籍有菲律賓,泰國,印尼, 緬甸,斯里蘭卡和孟加拉。其中逾五成是菲傭。大部分菲傭,孟加拉或尼泊爾等女傭諳英語,而印傭和泰傭則曾受廣東話訓練。所以,若你完全不懂半句英語,或僱來的傭人是負責照顧老人家,或許考慮勿請菲傭了。因語言如能互通,工作上會比效減少出錯。

2.女傭年齡大小要注意

由十八至五十歲的外傭,僱主可任意挑選,年輕的和較年長的各擅勝長,視乎你家庭的需要而定。例如你育有幼兒,就需要一位富湊小孩經驗的30-40歲女傭,皆因她們有育兒經驗,體力又足以應付。相反,家有少年人和老人家的,則可能需要一些較年輕的「大姐姐」或年長和成熟的女傭。

3.仔細閱讀女傭資料

你務必要一絲不茍細閱女傭背景資料,了解她對未來僱主家庭的期望,特別須留意她的家庭背景是否真正需要來港工作,因這點可構成她日後的工作態度,以及會否安份守紀,盡忠負責,雖然僱主可以更換傭人,但如果傭人去到的家庭合乎她的期望,僱傭關係會較長久和容洽。

4.「初來報到」或「熟手技工」?

對於一些準僱主,他們常徘徊於一個問題:選用一個首次來港或有在港工作經驗的女傭;從經驗分析,初次來港工作的,大多較純品和順從, 但因環境陌生,顧主須花時間教導。後者則因居港日久,已熟習了港式生活和環境,工作上和生活上也較醒目,較明白自身之權益。

5.了解文化背景,生活習慣

每個國家都有他們獨有的風俗習慣,僱用前要了解清楚,例如因著宗教緣故,部分印傭不單止不嗜豬肉,甚至連觸摸豬肉都拒絕。又或每天定時間要念經等,各位準僱主請預先查個究竟。