Training

Burmese Helper (Myanmar)

Burmese Helper (Myanmar)

At a Glance

Since 2010, an increasing number of Burmese workers have begun seeking employment abroad following political and economic reforms in Myanmar. Many Burmese workers are already employed as domestic helpers in Singapore, Malaysia, and Taiwan.

In early 2014, following a long period of evaluation, the Myanmar government granted select Hong Kong employment agencies the right to recruit and place Burmese domestic helpers in the territory. Overseas Employment Centre Ltd. was among the first employment agencies in Hong Kong licensed to recruit and place Burmese domestic helpers.

Burmese helpers, especially those working in Singapore, have already developed a reputation for a strong work ethic, and are highly sought after by employers. Myanmar remains one of the poorest nations in Southeast Asia, so it is not surprising to see domestic helpers from Myanmar exhibit a remarkable willingness to work hard for the opportunity to support family and loved ones back home.

Burmese Culture and Cuisine

Burmese culture is heavily influenced by Buddhism, as well as a historic connection to its neighbors Thailand, China, and India. More recent British Colonialism and Westernization has also had a significant impact. From an early age, children in Myanmar are taught to respect and venerate one’s elders and to be kind to the young. Elders, in particular, are spoken to in a more respectful manner with a special vocabulary that is age-dependent.

Burmese cuisine has similarly been influenced by dishes from neighboring India, China and Thailand, as well as domestic ethnic cuisines. Burmese cuisine can be described as having a mildly spicy taste, with a limited use of spices.

Looking Ahead

In the coming years, as government policy continues to limit the number of Indonesian helpers working in Hong Kong, helpers from Myanmar are expected to make up for that shortfall and become the fastest growing population of domestic helpers in the territory.

Language Conversational in Cantonese OR English, native Burmese
Education Junior to Senior Secondary Levels
Age 23 – 42
Religion 90% Buddhist
Training While many already have previous experience from Singapore or Malaysia, our helpers attend specialized training programs for up to 7 months that include courses in baby care, elderly care, and language training. Helpers are eligible for 12 months of free supplemental training courses in Hong Kong.

Our company holds valid operating licenses issued by the Philippines, Thailand, Bangladesh & Indonesian Consulates.

LICENSE NO: 54610

僱主須知

緬傭

Burmese Helper (Myanmar)

關於緬傭

自2010年起,緬甸政府放寬國家的政治和經濟,讓緬甸的家傭開始前往新加坡或馬來西亞工作。雖然緬傭對香港而言是較為新鮮,但事實上大部分緬傭在其他國家已有相當的工作經驗。

經過長時間的評估,緬甸政府於2014年上旬起容許香港的僱傭中心代辦聘請緬傭的手續。海外僱傭中心更是全港首批獲緬甸政府認可代辦聘請緬傭的僱傭中心。

來自緬甸的女傭,尤其過往曾在新加坡工作的緬傭,都培養出強烈的工作意欲,並廣受僱主歡迎。主要原因是緬甸是東南亞地區其中一個貧窮國家,因此緬傭願意以良好的工作表現來換取家人的安穩生活。

緬傭的文化與烹飪

緬甸的文化與相鄰的泰國、中國和印度同樣深受佛教影響。英國殖民主義和西化亦對緬甸存在深遠的影響。緬甸的小朋友自小學習尊重長輩和愛護同輩;長輩亦被尊稱為「時代的依靠」。

緬甸的烹飪同樣地受相鄰的印度、中國和泰國的菜式影響,因此緬傭的烹飪往往帶有微辣味道。

展望前景

政府的政策持續限制來港工作的印傭數目,令緬傭填補海外傭工的短缺,緬傭的數目預期將會急速增長。

語言 略懂廣東話或英語,母語緬甸語
教育 初中至高中程度
年齡 23至42歲
宗教信仰 百分之九十信奉佛教
培訓 雖然部分緬傭曾到新加坡或馬來西亞工作,但我們亦會安排本中心的女傭接受為期高達七個月的家務訓練,內容包括嬰孩護理、照顧老人和語言學習等。合資格的緬傭到港後將會參加為期十二個月的免費補充培訓。